Skip the NI Direct Bar
Skip navigation
Dedicated search page with advanced options


In the UK, honours are given to people from all walks of life and all sections of society who have made a difference to their community.

Different types of awards

There are several different types of award, each one recognising a different type of contribution.
Honours are awarded twice a year - in June and at the New Year. There are about 1,500 awards each time and most are made in the Order of the British Empire, with some 15 per cent at the highest levels (CBE and above).
The nidirect website has useful information about the honours system, including the nomination process, the different types of awards, and the most recent lists.
You can also download the necessary forms to nominate someone for an award and find out where to send them.

Contacting the Northern Ireland Honours Secretariat

Northern Ireland Honours Secretariat
Office of the First Minister and Deputy First Minister
Room FD34 Stormont Castle
Stormont Estate
Belfast BT4 3TT

More useful Links